Interview: Director Hany Abu-Assad Talks Omar

Recently at the Dubai Film Festival, we grabbed some time with the Oscar-nominated Palestinian writer-director Hany Abu-Assad to talk about Omar, his deeply personal film about love, friendship and betrayal set in the shadow of the Israeli Separation Wall…

Did you become a filmmaker at least partly to make Palestinian stories like this?
That was one of the reasons. Another reason is I thought it would give me better sex appeal than being an engineer; it’s very chic to be a filmmaker (laughs). The reality is, most human beings need to express themselves, through writing poems or writing novels or through music. I always felt I could express myself through visuals. So sure, I became a filmmaker to tell these kinds of stories because they’re part of my life.

Read more…

78228
Anuncis

Deixa un comentari

